David Price Wins AL Cy, Complete BBWAA Voting Breakdown

With a league leading 20 wins and 2.56 ERA, Tampa Bay Rays’ left-handed ace took home the 2012 American League Cy Young award, finishing five points ahead of last year’s winner Justin Verlander.

From the Baseball Writers Association of America official site:

Of the 28 ballots submitted, 14 of them had Price in first with 13 of them had Verlander.

Two things, however, stand out immediately.

Price wins his first Cy Young Award after finishing second in 2010.

First, Fernando Rodney, the shutdown closer for the Tampa Bay Rays, received a first place vote. Rodney’s 0.60 ERA and 96% save percentage was outstanding. Outstanding for a team that did not make the playoffs. The first place vote came from Drew Davison, writer for the Forth Worth Star Telegram in Texas. Davison had Price third on his ballot.

Also, one ballot did not contain Jered Weaver, the 20-5 ace for the Los Angeles Angels who pitched to a 2.81 ERA with a 1.018 WHIP that was the lowest in Major League Baseball last season. Keep in mind that Weaver’s 1.018 ERA came pitching in the American League West, a league featuring the powerful Texas Rangers and the upstart Oakland Athletics. Weaver pitched against the Rangers five times, taking home a 4-1 record and a 1.239 WHIP while only allowing an average of one home run per game. Weaver faced the Athletics four times, boasting a 3-0 record, 0.29 ERA, and a 0.587 WHIP. He was 12-1 against playoff teams in 2012.

Ben Goessling, writer for the St. Paul Pioneer Press in Minnesota kept Weaver off his ballot, replacing him with Chris Sale and Yu Darvish in fourth and fifth respectively. Felix Hernandez was his third place vote. Hernandez held a worse record, higher ERA, and a higher WHIP compared to Weaver. Lack of run support was not a problem for Hernandez, either, as he only received one loss all season when turning in a quality start. Even though Weaver enjoyed six runs per start, he only had two cheap wins – games when he pitched less than six innings or gave up more than three runs.

Also from the BBWAA’s official website, here is the voting breakdown:

Any thing else that you see?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s